+49 (0) 541 / 40666 200

Sie erreichen uns Montag bis
Freitag von 8 bis 16 Uhr

 

Schreiben Sie uns eine Email oder benutzten eine andere Kontaktmöglichkeit
 Versandkostenfrei in Deutschland
Einkaufskorb
Keine Artikel
in Ihrem
Einkaufskorb

The Order of the Day

90079270
Zum Vergrößern anklicken

nur 14,99 €

Sie sparen 3,11 € (17 %) gegenüber dem alten Preis von 18,10 €
(portofrei!, inkl. MwSt.)

Widerruf zu diesem Artikel
  • Details
  • Beschreibung
  • Information
  • Information zum Autor
  • Bilder
Details
Artikel-Nr.:
90079270
Im Sortiment seit:
18.04.2019
Erscheinungsdatum:
01/2019
Medium:
Buch
Einband:
Gebunden
Übersetzungstitel:
Die Tagesordnung
Autor:
Vuillard, Eric
Übersetzung:
Polizzotti, Mark
Verlag:
Pan Macmillan
Imprint:
Picador
Sprache:
Englisch
Rubrik:
Belletristik
Romane, Erzählungen
Seiten:
128
Herkunft:
GROSSBRITANNIEN (GB)
Empfohlenes Alter:
ab 18 Jahre
Gewicht:
268 gr
Beschreibung
WINNER OF THE 2017 PRIX GONCOURT

Éric Vuillard's gripping novel The Order of the Day tells the story of the pivotal meetings which took between the European powers in the run up to World War Two. What emerges is a fascinating and incredibly moving account of failed diplomacy, broken relationships, and the catastrophic momentum which led to conflict.

The titans of German industry - set to prosper under the Nazi government - gather to lend their support to Adolf Hitler. The Australian Chancellor realizes too late that he has wandered into a trap, as Hitler delivers the ultimatum that will lay the groundwork for Germany's annexation of Austria. Winston Churchill joins Neville Chamberlain for a farewell luncheon held in honour of Joachim von Ribbentrop: German Ambassador to England, soon to be Foreign Minister in the Nazi government, and future defendant at the Nuremberg trials.

We know that these meetings took place, but by imagining the atmosphere in the room, the words that were exchanged, the egos that were in play, Vuillard makes it impossible to ignore the fact that the world was brought to the brink of war because of the actions of, and decisions made by, those in power. The sense of failure and tragedy is cumulative: there was nothing inevitable about these disastrous events.
Information
A gripping and compelling fictional account of the key meetings and events which led up the the outbreak of World War Two: how egos flourished, diplomacy failed, and a few powerful men brought Europe to the brink of disaster. For fans of HHhH and To Die in Spring.
Information zum Autor
Éric Vuillard is a writer and filmmaker born in Lyon in 1968 who has written nine award-winning books, including Conquistadors (winner of the 2010 Prix Ignatius J. Reilly), and La bataille d'Occident and Congo (both of which received the 2012 Prix Franz-Hessel and the 2013 Prix Valery-Larbaud). He won the 2017 Prix Goncourt, France's most prestigious literary prize, for L'ordre du jour.
Bilder