+49 (0) 541 / 40666 200

Sie erreichen uns Montag bis
Freitag von 8 bis 16 Uhr

 

Schreiben Sie uns eine Email oder benutzten eine andere Kontaktmöglichkeit
 Versandkostenfrei in Deutschland
Einkaufskorb
Keine Artikel
in Ihrem
Einkaufskorb

The Librarian of Auschwitz

Taschenbuch von Antonio Iturbe

89744573
Zum Vergrößern anklicken

nur 12,59 €

(portofrei!, inkl. MwSt.)

Widerruf zu diesem Artikel
  • Details
  • Beschreibung
  • Information zum Autor
  • Bilder
Details
Artikel-Nr.:
89744573
Im Sortiment seit:
30.03.2019
Erscheinungsdatum:
04.04.2019
Medium:
Taschenbuch
Einband:
Kartoniert / Broschiert
Autor:
Iturbe, Antonio
Übersetzung:
Thwaites, Lilit Zekulin
Verlag:
Random House UK Ltd
Imprint:
Del Rey
Sprache:
Englisch
Rubrik:
Belletristik
Romane, Erzählungen
Seiten:
432
Empfohlenes Alter:
ab 13 Jahre
Gewicht:
297 gr
Beschreibung
For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world - and the most dangerous.

'It wasn't an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns...'

Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the 'living books' - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be 'borrowed' to educate the children in the camp.

But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children's block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor...

The Sunday Times bestseller for readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice. Based on the incredible and moving true story of Dita Kraus, holocaust survivor and secret librarian for the children's block in Auschwitz.
Information zum Autor
Antonio Iturbe lives in Spain, where he is both a novelist and a journalist. In researching The Librarian of Auschwitz, he interviewed Dita Kraus, the real-life librarian of Auschwitz.

Lilit Thwaites is an award-winning literary translator. After thirty years as an academic at La Trobe University in Australia, she retired from teaching and now focuses primarily on her ongoing translation and research projects.

Dita Kraus was born in Prague. In 1942, when Dita was thirteen years old , she and her parents were deported to Ghetto Theresienstadt and later to Auschwitz,. Neither of Dita's parents survived. After the war Dita married the author Otto B. Kraus. They emigrated to Israel in 1949, where they both worked as teachers They had three children. Since Otto's death in 2000 , Dita lives alone in Netanya. She has four grandchildren and four great grandchildren. Despite the horrors of the concentration camps, Dita has kept her positive approach to life.
Bilder